Development of Chinese Medicine in Hong Kong

Background

Chinese medicine is an integral part of the Chinese culture. It has been used for prevention and treatment of diseases as well as health maintenance and has made significant contribution to the health of public. It is also very popular in Hong Kong and has been used for years. Many citizens would consult Chinese medicine practitioners and use Chinese medicines.

 

Regulation of Chinese Medicine

Chinese medicine has a long history in Hong Kong. Starting from the 1980s, society's concern towards Chinese medicine grows, and the Hong Kong Government appointed the Working Party on Chinese Medicine in August 1989. The Working Party was tasked to review the practice and use of Chinese medicine in Hong Kong and advise measures that should be taken to promote the proper use and good practice of Chinese medicine. The Working Party submitted a report to the Hong Kong Government in October 1994.

 

Preparatory Committee on Chinese Medicine

Following the Working Party's recommendations in its report, the Hong Kong Government appointed the Preparatory Committee on Chinese Medicine ("The Preparatory Committee") in April 1995 to make recommendations to the government on the promotion, development and regulation of Chinese medicine in Hong Kong. During its four years of appointment, the Preparatory Committee conducted a survey on Chinese medicine practitioners in Hong Kong; reviewed the use and control of Chinese medicine; and recommended measures for regulation and development of Chinese medicine in Hong Kong. The Preparatory Committee submitted two reports to the government in March 1997 and March 1999 respectively.

For better protection of public health, the Preparatory Committee recommended a statutory body be set up to regulate the practice, use and trading of Chinese medicine; a system of accreditation and regulation which include registration, examination and discipline of Chinese medicine practitioners be established with transitional arrangements for existing practitioners; and a control mechanism, through systems of registration, licensing and labeling be set up to regulate the manufacture, distribution, retail and import and export of Chinese medicines. Regarding the future development of Chinese medicine, the Preparatory Committee recommended full-time undergraduate courses in Chinese medicine be developed and made available in Hong Kong; scientific researches and developments in Chinese medicine be encouraged and supported; and Chinese medicine be included into Hong Kong's medical and healthcare system on a gradual basis. The public and members from the Chinese medicine profession and the trade of Chinese medicines generally supported the Preparatory Committee's recommendations on the direction of development of Chinese medicine.

 

Government Policy

The policy for the future development of Chinese medicine was enshrined in the Basic Law of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. Article 138 of the Basic Law provides that "the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region shall, on its own, formulate policies to develop western and traditional Chinese medicine and to improve medical and health services. Community organizations and individuals may provide various medical and health services in accordance with law."

The Secretary for Health, Welfare and Food1 conducted a public consultation on the development of Chinese medicine in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region in November 1997 to solicit public opinions. Based on the Preparatory Committee's recommendations and public views collected in the consultation, the Chinese Medicine Bill was introduced into the Legislative Council in February 1999 and was passed in July the same year (www.elegislation.gov.hk).

1 Due to restructuring of the government administrative structure, the Health, Welfare and Food Bureau was reorganised as Food and Health Bureau in July 2007.

 

Chinese Medicine Council of Hong Kong

The Chinese Medicine Ordinance (Cap. 549) provides for the setting up of the Chinese Medicine Council of Hong Kong ("The Council"). This statutory body comprises practising Chinese medicine practitioners, members of the trade of Chinese medicines, academics, lay persons and government officials. The Council was established in September 1999 and is responsible for implementing the regulatory measures for Chinese medicine.

For regulation of Chinese medicine practitioners, the Council has so far completed work on the registration of Chinese medicine practitioners under the transitional arrangements and formulated and implemented regulatory measures on the registration, examination, continuing education and discipline of Chinese medicine practitioners.

For Chinese medicines, after subsidiary legislations relating to regulation of Chinese medicines were passed in January 2003, the Council began to accept applications for licensing from Chinese medicines traders and applications for registration of proprietary Chinese medicines in April and December 2003 respectively, so as to regulate sales and manufacture of Chinese medicines. The safety, efficacy and quality of proprietary Chinese medicines will be assessed before the products are allowed to be registered. The dispensation, storage and labeling of Chinese herbal medicines will also be regulated.

After the licensing system of Chinese medicines traders and the registration system of proprietary Chinese medicines were implemented in 2003, legislative provisions specifying that Chinese medicines traders shall apply for a licence and regulations on import and export of Chinese medicines came into effect in January 2008. Legislative provisions specifying that proprietary Chinese medicines shall be registered and clinical trial or medicinal test shall be conducted on proprietary Chinese medicines upon application became effective as from December 2010.

Moreover, legislative provisions specifying that proprietary Chinese medicines shall be attached with labels and packaging inserts as prescribed by the regulations also came into effect in December 2011.

Up to present, all legislative provisions under the Chinese Medicine Ordinance relating to the regulation of Chinese medicine have come into force.

 

Development and Promotion Process of Chinese Medicine

In 2000, the Food and Health Bureau issued Consultation Document on Healthcare Reform, covering ways to promote development of Chinese medicine. An important part of the document is to incorporate Chinese medicine into the public healthcare system, including provision of outpatient Chinese medicine services in the public sector, and introduction of Chinese medicine practice in selected public hospitals, such as carrying out clinical research, and facilitating the development of standards and models of integration of western and Chinese medicines. The plan included the set up of a Chinese medicine clinic in each of the 18 districts of Hong Kong.

Moreover, three local universities have provided full-time degree courses on Chinese medicine, which can produce an adequate pool of high calibre professionals to support Hong Kong's development as an international centre for Chinese medicine.

The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region is committed to promoting Chinese medicine by taking measures including establishing "Hong Kong Chinese Materia Medica (CMM) Standards Office" under the Department of Health, setting standards for CMMs commonly used in Hong Kong; establishing a network of international scientific research institutions for research and development work. Standards for a total of 200 CMMs were set in 2012. Thereafter, it is planned to set standards for 28 CMMs each year. (http://www.cmd.gov.hk/html/b5/service/hkcmms/development.html)

In addition, according to the 2010 Policy Address, the government would work out a timetable for mandatory compliance with the "Good Manufacturing Practice" for the manufacture of proprietary Chinese medicines, so as to enhance the quality of proprietary Chinese medicines manufactured in Hong Kong. The government and the Council are now extensively soliciting opinions of the trade to map out details of the plan and implementation timetable.

In April 2012, the Chinese Medicine Division of the Department of Health was designated as the "World Health Organization Collaborating Centre for Traditional Medicine" to help promote regional strategy for traditional medicine in the Western Pacific Region, and develop and improve WHO Traditional Medicine Strategy. (http://www.cmd.gov.hk/html/b5/who/index.html)

 

Chinese Medicine Development Committee

The Chinese Medicine Development Committee (CMDC), chaired by the Secretary for Food and Health, was established in February 2013 to give recommendations to the Government concerning the direction and long term strategy of the future development of Chinese medicine in Hong Kong. The CMDC comprises representatives from the Chinese medicine practice, Chinese medicine trade, academia, research and development, testing and healthcare sectors, as well as lay persons. Two Subcommittees, namely, the Chinese Medicine Practice Subcommittee and the Chinese Medicines Industry Subcommittee, have also been formed under the CMDC.

As set out in the 2014 Policy Address, the Government has accepted the Committee's recommendation and decided to reserve a site in Tseung Kwan O for setting up a Chinese medicine hospital. On CMDC’s recommendation, the Hospital Authority has also launched the Integrated Chinese-Western Medicine Pilot Programme for in-patients in public hospitals, so as to gather experiences for the operation and regulation for the future Chinese medicine hospital.

The Government has also accepted the Committee's recommendation and announced in the 2015 Policy Address that it will plan and develop a testing centre for Chinese medicine to be managed by the Department of Health. The testing centre will specialise in the testing of, and scientific research on, Chinese medicine with a view to setting reference standards for the safety, quality and testing methods of Chinese medicine. The testing centre will also help promote the Hong Kong Chinese Materia Medica Standards and the reference standards for testing Chinese medicine as authoritative international benchmarks to pave the way for the internationalisation of Hong Kong's Chinese medicine industry.

For more details of CMDC, please visit its webpage at http://www.fhb.gov.hk/en/committees/cmdc/cmdc.html.

 

Way Forward

After the return of Hong Kong to China in July 1997, Hong Kong has entered an entirely new phase in the development of Chinese medicine. It has laid a solid foundation and is making steady progress in law-based regulation, scientific research and education, and serving the public. With the concerted efforts from the industry, the academia, the community as well as the government, and also through collaboration with its motherland and overseas parties, the development of traditional Chinese medicine in Hong Kong will move on to a higher plateau. What’s more, Hong Kong should be able to assume a bridging role and contribute towards the introduction of traditional Chinese medicine into the international arena.

香港中醫藥發展概覽

背景

中醫藥是中華文化的重要組成部分,一直被用作預防和治療疾病以及保健,為人們健康作出重大貢獻。中醫藥在香港亦相當普及,有多年的使用歷史。許多市民都會向中醫師求診及選用中藥。

 

中醫藥規管工作的發展

中醫藥在香港有悠久的歷史。自80年代開始,社會對中醫藥的發展越趨關注。回應社會的期望,政府於1989年8月成立了中醫藥工作小組,負責檢討香港中醫的執業情況,以及中醫藥在本港的使用,並就推廣中醫藥的正確使用和確保中醫藥的專業水平,提供意見。工作小組於1994年10月向政府提交了一份報告書。

 

香港中醫藥發展籌備委員會

根據工作小組報告書的建議,政府在1995年4月成立了香港中醫藥發展籌備委員會(下稱「籌委會」)。籌委會負責就如何促進、發展和規管香港中醫藥,向政府提供建議。籌委會成立4年期間,曾對香港中醫進行了一項統計調查;分析了香港中醫藥的使用和監管情況;並就如何規管和發展中醫藥,提供建議。籌委會分別於1997年3月和1999年3月向政府提交了報告書。

為了加強保障市民的健康,籌委會建議成立法定組織,以規管中醫的執業及中藥的使用和銷售;設立中醫評審和規管制度,包括中醫註冊、考試和紀律,並且為現職中醫提供過渡安排;以及設立規管機制,通過註冊、發牌和標籤制度,規管中藥的製造、銷售、零售和進出口。就中醫藥的未來發展,籌委會建議在香港開辦全日制中醫藥本科學位課程、鼓勵和支持中醫藥的科學研究和發展,及以循序漸進的方式,將中醫中藥納入香港的醫療體系。社會及中醫藥業內人士對籌委會報告書內建議的中醫藥發展方向均普遍表示支持。

 

政府政策

香港特別行政區《基本法》訂明了中醫藥未來發展的政策。《基本法》第138條訂明:「香港特別行政區政府自行制定發展中西醫藥和促進醫療衞生服務的政策。社會團體和私人可依法提供各種醫療衞生服務。」

衞生及福利局1局長於1997年11月就香港特別行政區中醫藥的發展,諮詢公眾。根據籌委會的建議,以及在諮詢期間所收集的意見,衞生及福利局在1999年2月向立法會提交了《中醫藥條例草案》。條例草案在同年7月獲得通過(www.elegislation.gov.hk)。

1 由於政府行政架構重組,自2007年7月起衞生及福利局改組為食物及衞生局。

 

香港中醫藥管理委員會

香港中醫藥管理委員會(下稱「管委會」)便是根據《中醫藥條例》(香港法例第549章)而成立。此法定組織的成員包括執業中醫師、中藥業人士、教育界人士、業外人士和政府人員。管委會在1999年9月成立,負責實施各項中醫藥的規管措施。

中醫方面,管委會迄今已完成中醫註冊過渡性安排的工作,並制定及實施了各項中醫規管措施,包括中醫註冊、考核、持續進修,以及紀律事宜。

中藥方面,在有關中藥規管的附屬法例於2003年1月獲通過後,管委會已於2003年4月及12月分別開始接受中藥商領牌和中成藥註冊申請,以規管中藥的銷售和製造。在有關制度實施後,中成藥必須經安全、功效和品質審核,方可獲得註冊,而中藥材的配發、貯存和標示亦會受到規管。

中藥商領牌及中成藥註冊制度於2003年開始實施後,中藥商必須領牌的法例條文及中藥的進出口管制於2008年1月正式生效。中成藥必須註冊的法例條文及申請中成藥進行臨床證驗或進行藥物測試的法例條文於2010年12月開始實施。

另外,有關中成藥必須附有法例條文訂明的標籤及說明書的法例條文,亦已於2011年12月生效。

至此,所有在《中醫藥條例》下與中醫藥規管有關的法例條文,已全部實施。

 

推廣中醫藥的發展及規管進程

食物及衞生局在2000年推出醫療改革諮詢文件,當中包括如何促進中醫藥的發展。將中醫藥納入公共醫療體系是其中一項重要的環節,這包括在公營架構內提供中醫門診服務,以及在選定的公營醫院引進中醫藥服務,例如進行臨床研究、制定治療標準和發展中西醫藥互相銜接的模式。計劃包括在全港18區各設有1間中醫診所。

另外,本港目前有3所本地大學設有全日制中醫藥學士學位課程,培訓優質專業人才,以支援香港發展成為國際中醫藥中心。

香港特別行政區政府致力推廣中醫藥,措施包括在衞生署下設立「香港中藥材標準辦事處」,為常用香港中藥材制定標準;設立國際科研機構網絡,以進行研究和發展工作。在2012年已完成制定200種中藥材標準。此後,計劃每年會繼續為約28種中藥材訂定標準(http://www.cmd.gov.hk/html/b5/service/hkcmms/development.html)。

另外,2010年施政報告公布,政府將為推行製造中成藥必須依循「生產質量管理規範」訂定時間表,以提升本港中成藥製造的質量。政府與管委會現正就計劃內容及實施時間表廣泛諮詢業界的意見。

在2012年4月,衞生署中醫藥事務部獲「世界衞生組織」委任為「傳統醫藥合作中心」,以協助傳統醫藥地區策略在西太平洋區的推展,以及發展及完善傳統醫藥的全球策略(http://www.cmd.gov.hk/html/b5/who/index.html)。

 

中醫中藥發展委員會

中醫中藥發展委員會(委員會)於二零一三年二月成立,由食物及衞生局局長擔任主席。委員會就推動香港中醫中藥業發展的方向及長遠策略,向政府提供建議。委員會由來自中醫、中藥、學術、科研、檢測、醫療等界別代表以及業外人士組成。委員會轄下成立了「中醫業小組委員會」和「中藥業小組委員會」。

政府接納委員會的建議,並在《2014年施政報告》中宣布,預留一幅在將軍澳的土地作中醫醫院之用。在委員會建議下,醫院管理局亦在公營醫院住院部開展「中西醫協作項目」先導計劃,為發展中醫醫院汲取營運及規管方面的經驗。

政府亦接納委員會的建議,在《2015年施政報告》公佈將會籌劃一所由衞生署管理的中藥檢測中心,專責中藥檢測科研,為中藥安全、品質及檢測方法建立參考標準。中藥檢測中心亦會將《香港中藥材標準》及中藥檢測的參考標準推廣成為具權威性的國際標準,推動本港中藥業邁向國際。

有關中醫中藥發展委員會的詳情,請瀏覽網頁http://www.fhb.gov.hk/cn/committees/cmdc/cmdc.html

 

展望

自1997年7月回歸祖國後,香港中醫藥的發展開始進入一個嶄新的階段。中醫藥已分別在依法規管、科研教育和服務市民方面建立了堅固基礎,並穩步向前發展。通過業界、學術科研界、社會各界人士和政府多方的同心協力,並加強與國內及海外的協作,香港中醫藥的發展將會邁向更高台階。更重要的是,香港會肩負起橋樑的作用,推動傳統中醫藥走向世界。