Regulation of Chinese Medicine Practitioners > Limited Registration

Under section 83 of the Chinese Medicine Ordinance, where an educational or scientific research institution intends to engage a person -

  1. who is not a registered Chinese medicine practitioner registered by the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board of the Chinese Medicine Council of Hong Kong (the Council); or
  2. who has a qualification that qualifies him to apply to be registered but it is impracticable for him to obtain registration under section 69 of the Chinese Medicine Ordinance in the circumstances,

to perform predominantly clinical teaching or research in Chinese medicine for the institution, the institution may apply to the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board on behalf of the person for limited registration of that person.

Applications for limited registration should be made by institutions specified by the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board in the gazette of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. Institutions which may apply for limited registration as specified by the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board include the University of Hong Kong, the Chinese University of Hong Kong, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong Baptist University, the Hong Kong Polytechnic University and Hospital Authority.

 

Qualifications of the applicant

The person on whose behalf application is made (the applicant) by institutions specified by the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board in the Gazette (the applying institution) must have satisfactorily completed such undergraduate degree course of training in Chinese medicine practice or its equivalent as is acceptable to the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board, and possesses adequate and relevant full-time experience in Chinese medicine practice.

The applicant should submit objective evidence to support the relevant practising, clinical teaching or research experience. Where necessary, the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board may arrange interview with the applicant to verify his experience.

 

Assessment of the application for limited registration

Under the Chinese Medicine Ordinance, the person with limited registration can only perform the specified clinical teaching or research in the institution. The applying institution should give details on the applicant's duties and responsibilities, as well as the clinical teaching or research to be performed by the applicant in the institution, including the research topic, the course, format and contents of teaching, etc. The Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board will determine whether the work of the applicant in the institution belongs to clinical teaching or research according to the information submitted by the applying institution. Where necessary, the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board may send officers to the applying institution to assess the relevant clinical teaching or research programmes and the complementary facilities of the institution.

 

Certificate of limited registration

Where an application for limited registration is approved by the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board, the Registrar of Chinese Medicine Practitioners will issue a certificate of limited registration to the applicant.

 

Limits of limited registration

Under section 86 of the Chinese Medicine Ordinance, the validity period of the limited registration approved by the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board does not exceed one year. The person with limited registration can only perform the specified clinical teaching or research in Chinese medicine in the named employing institution subject to such conditions or restrictions, if any, as specified by the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board.

 

Unlawful use of title and practice of Chinese medicine

Under section 108(4) of the Chinese Medicine Ordinance, any person with limited registration who wilfully or falsely pretends to be qualified to practise Chinese medicine, or wilfully or falsely takes or uses any name, title, addition or description implying that he is qualified to practise Chinese medicine, beyond the limits defined in the direction under sections 85 and 86 of the Chinese Medicine Ordinance relating to that registration, commits an offence and is liable to a fine at level 3 and to imprisonment for 6 months.

 

Procedures for applying for limited registration

How to apply

If the applying institution wishes to apply for limited registration on behalf of the person to be employed, the institution should complete the application form for limited registration, and submit it together with the following documents to the Secretariat of the Chinese Medicine Council by post or in person during office hours three months before the date of employment:

  1. the duly completed application form;
  2. three recent photos of the applicant of a size of 40 x 60 mm (i.e. photos should be taken within 6 months before the submission of application);
  3. a crossed cheque or bank draft for the prescribed application fee (HK$1,100) made payable to "香港特別行政區政府", "The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region" or "The Government of the HKSAR" with the names of the applying institution and the applicant written at the back. The application fee will not be refunded once the application is processed ;
  4. information and evidence on the clinical teaching or research programme;
  5. certified true copies of the applicant's documentary proofs of academic qualifications;
  6. certified true copies of the applicant's documentary proofs of practice;
  7. certified true copies of the documentary proofs of the clinical teaching or research in Chinese medicine performed by the applicant.

The Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board may require the applying institution and the applicant to submit other documentary proofs and the originals of the above-mentioned documents for verification.

Application fee

The application fee of limited registration is HK$1,100.

Documentary proofs of academic qualifications to be submitted by the applicant

The documentary proofs to be submitted by the applicant include diplomas, certificates, transcripts of studies in Chinese medicine and other documentary proofs required by the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board.

Documentary proofs of practice to be submitted by the applicant

The documentary proofs of experience in Chinese medicine practice stated in the application form by the applicant may include:

  1. proofs of practice and period of practice issued by the employing institution;
  2. proofs of work;
  3. proofs of employment;
  4. practising certificates of other countries or regions;
  5. other information as required by the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board.

 

Notify the applying institution of the result of application

The Secretariat of the Council will notify the applying institution of the result of the application in writing according to the decision of the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board. Where the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board refuses an application, the Secretariat will notify the applying institution of the refusal reason(s) and inform it of the rights and ways of appeal.

 

Providing false evidence

If any applicant provides false/misleading information, he will not be qualified for registration. Moreover, under section 107 of the Chinese Medicine Ordinance, any person who fraudulently procures or attempts to procure himself or any other person to be registered as a Chinese medicine practitioner with limited registration, by making or producing, or causing to be made or produced, any false or fraudulent representations or declaration, either oral or in writing, commits an offence and is liable on conviction upon indictment to imprisonment for 3 years.

 

Information of the applying institution and the applicant

The information provided by the applying institution and the applicant is mainly for use within the Chinese Medicine Council for the purpose of facilitating the provisions of the Chinese Medicine Ordinance, it may also be disclosed to other government bureaux/departments, agencies or authorities for the purposes of implementing the Chinese Medicine Ordinance. The public can have access to the registration information of the institutions which are qualified to make applications for limited registration or that of Chinese medicine practitioners with limited registration, including their names, addresses and qualifications, etc. published in the gazette of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region and the homepage of the Chinese Medicine Council. Apart from these, the other information will only be disclosed where the applying institution or the applicant has given consent to such disclosure or where such disclosure is allowed under the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance.

The applying institution or the applicant can access and correct the information. However, a fee may be imposed for complying with a data access request. Should there be any amendment to the information of the institution, or personal particulars of the applicant or the registration information, the applying institution or the applicant should notify the Secretariat of the Council in writing as soon as possible.

 

previous | next

中醫規管制度 > 有限制註冊

根據《中醫藥條例》第83條,如任何教育或科研機構擬聘用有下述情況的人士,主要為該機構進行中醫藥學方面的臨床教學或研究—

  1. 該人並非經香港中醫藥管理委員會(管委會)中醫組註冊的註冊中醫;或
  2. 該人具有註冊資格,但在當時的情況下,如要該人根據《中醫藥條例》第69條取得註冊,並不切實可行,

則該機構可代表該人向中醫組,申請給予該人有限制註冊。

有限制註冊申請須由中醫組於特區政府憲報內指定的機構提出。中醫組現指定可提出有限制註冊申請的機構包括香港大學、香港中文大學、香港城市大學、香港浸會大學、香港理工大學及醫院管理局。

 

申請人的資格

由中醫組於憲報內指定的機構(申請機構)代表提出該項申請的人士(申請人),必須已圓滿地完成一項獲中醫組接納的中醫本科學位執業訓練課程或同等課程,及具有足夠和有關聯的全職中醫執業經驗。

申請人須提供客觀證據,以支持有關的執業、臨床教學或科研經驗。如有需要,中醫組可約見申請人,以核證他們的經驗。

 

有限制註冊申請的審核

根據《中醫藥條例》的規定,獲有限制註冊的人士只可在指明的機構內進行指明的臨床教育或科研工作。申請機構須提交申請人在該機構的工作範圍、性質、所參與的臨床教學或科研詳情,包括研究課題、教學課程、形式和內容等。中醫組會根據申請機構提交的各項資料,確定申請人在機構的工作是否屬於臨床教學或科研工作。如有需要,中醫組亦可派員到申請機構,審核有關的臨床教學或科研工作和機構的設施配套。

 

有限制註冊證明書

任何獲得中醫組批准的有限制註冊申請,申請人將獲中醫註冊主任簽發一份有限制註冊證明書。

 

有限制註冊的限制

根據《中醫藥條例》第86條的規定,獲中醫組批准的有限制註冊有效期最長為一年。獲有限制註冊資格的人士,只可在指明的受僱機構內和中醫組指明的條件及限制(如有的話)下,進行獲指明的中醫藥學方面的臨床教學或研究工作。

 

非法使用名銜或作中醫執業

根據《中醫藥條例》第108(4)條,如任何獲有限制註冊的人,故意或虛假地冒充為有資格在根據《中醫藥條例》第85及86條作出的指示中所界定的與該項註冊有關的限制範圍以外作中醫執業,或故意或虛假地採用或使用任何名稱、名銜、加稱或描述,以默示其有資格在根據《中醫藥條例》第85及86條作出的指示中所界定的與該項註冊有關的限制範圍以外作中醫執業,即屬犯罪,可處第3級罰款及監禁6個月。

 

有限制註冊申請程序

申請方法

如希望代表擬聘用的人申請有限制註冊,申請機構須於聘用期前三個月,填妥有限制註冊申請表格,並連同以下項目,寄交或於辦公時間內交回管委會秘書處:

  1. 已填妥的申請表;
  2. 申請人的三張40x60毫米近照(即在提出申請前6個月內拍攝的照片);
  3. 一張填寫了訂明的申請費用(港幣1,100元)的劃線支票或銀行本票,抬頭須註明"香港特別行政區政府"、"The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region"或"The Government of the HKSAR",並在背面寫上申請機構及申請人的姓名。申請一經處理,所繳交的申請費用概不發還;
  4. 該臨床教學或研究工作的資料及證明;
  5. 申請人的學歷證明文件的核證真實副本;
  6. 申請人的執業證明文件的核證真實副本;
  7. 申請人在中醫藥學臨床教學或科研工作上的證明文件的核證真實副本。

中醫組可要求申請機構及申請人,提交其他證明文件及上述文件的正本以供核對。

申請費用

有限制註冊的申請費用為港幣1,100元。

申請人須提交的學歷證明文件

申請人須提交的證明文件可包括有關的中醫文憑、證明書、成績單及中醫組要求的其他證明文件。

申請人須提交的執業經驗證明文件

申請人在申請表內所填報的中醫執業經驗的證明文件可包括:

  1. 由僱用機構簽發的執業及年期證明;
  2. 工作證明書;
  3. 僱用證明書;
  4. 其他國家或地區的執業證明書;
  5. 中醫組認為需要的其他資料。

 

將申請結果通知申請機構

管委會秘書處會根據中醫組的決定,以書面通知申請機構其申請結果。若申請被拒絕,秘書處會通知申請機構其申請被拒絕的理由及提出上訴的權利和途徑。

 

虛假證明的提供

如提供虛假/誤導性的資料,申請人的註冊資格會被取消。另外,根據《中醫藥條例》第107條的規定,任何人藉作出或交出,或藉導致作出或導致交出,口頭或書面的任何虛假或有欺詐成分的申述或聲明而欺詐地促致或企圖促致其本人或任何其他人,獲得註冊為有限制註冊中醫,即屬犯罪,一經循公訴程序定罪,可處監禁3年。

 

申請機構和申請人的資料

申請機構和申請人向中醫組提交的資料,主要由管委會內部使用,用作執行《中醫藥條例》的條款,或為執行《中醫藥條例》,向其他政府部門、中介機構或行政管理機構披露。公眾人士可在特區政府憲報內及管委會互聯網網頁上,查閱可提出有限制註冊申請的機構或獲有限制註冊的中醫的註冊資料,包括其姓名、地址及資格等。除此之外,其他資料只會在申請機構和申請人的同意,又或是在《個人資料(私隱)條例》容許的情況下,才會向其他人士披露。

申請機構或申請人可查閱及修改資料,但查閱資料時,可能要繳交費用。申請機構或申請人的機構或個人或註冊資料如有任何更改,須儘快以書面通知管委會秘書處。

上一頁 | 下一頁