Regulation of Chinese Medicine Practitioners > Transitional arrangements for registration of Chinese medicine practitioners

Under section 90 of the Chinese Medicine Ordinance, a person who was practising Chinese medicine in Hong Kong on 3 January 2000 could submit an application to the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board of the Chinese Medicine Council within the period of 16 August 2000 to 30 December 2000 to become a listed Chinese medicine practitioner under the transitional arrangements. Upon application, the applicant may continue practising Chinese medicine until his name is being removed from the List of listed Chinese medicine practitioners, his application for registration is refused or until a date as may be specified by the Secretary for Food and Health. The List of Listed Chinese Medicine Practitioners is available in the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Kegion Gazette published on 21 December 2001 and this homepage.

 

Alternative qualifying requirements

The Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board will conduct alternative qualifying assessments for all listed Chinese medicine practitioners. Based on the information submitted by the applicants when they applied for listed Chinese medicine practitioners, the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board will determine by which of the following means the applicants can apply to be registered Chinese medicine practitioners under sections 92 to 95 of the Chinese Medicine Ordinance -

  1. Applicants, who had been practising Chinese medicine in Hong Kong continuously for at least 15 years immediately before 3 January 2000, shall be exempted from the Licensing Examination and the Registration Assessment and can apply to be registered Chinese medicine practitioners directly;

  2. Applicants, who had been practising Chinese medicine in Hong Kong continuously for less than 15 years but at least 10 years immediately before 3 January 2000 and have obtained academic qualifications in practising Chinese medicine acceptable to the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board, shall be exempted from the Licensing Examination and the Registration Assessment and can apply to be registered Chinese medicine practitioners directly;

  3. Applicants, who had been practising Chinese medicine in Hong Kong continuously for less than 15 years but at least 10 years immediately before 3 January 2000 and have not obtained academic qualifications in practising Chinese medicine acceptable to the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board, shall pass the Registration Assessment before they are qualified to apply for registration. Applicants who fail the Registration Assessment have to take the Licensing Examination;

  4. Applicants, who had been practising Chinese medicine in Hong Kong continuously for less than 10 years immediately before 3 January 2000 and have obtained academic qualifications in practising Chinese medicine acceptable to the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board, shall pass the Registration Assessment before they are qualified to apply for registration. Applicants who fail the Registration Assessment have to take the Licensing Examination;

  5. Applicants, who had been practising Chinese medicine in Hong Kong continuously for less than 10 years immediately before 3 January 2000 and have not obtained the academic qualifications in practising Chinese medicine acceptable to the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board, shall pass the Licensing Examination before they are qualified to apply for registration.

 

Licensing Examination

According to the Chinese Medicine Ordinance, a listed Chinese medicine practitioner under the transitional arrangements is required to undertake the Licensing Examination after his qualifications and practising experience in Chinese medicine have been assessed by the Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board.

"The Candidates' Handbook for the Chinese Medicine Praititioners Licensing Examination" (Chinese version only) can be downloaded from this homepage and is available at the Secretariat of the Chinese Medicine Council of Hong Kong. It can also be obtained by fax through the Telephone Hotline System (2574 9999) of the Chinese Medicine Division of the Department of Health.

 

previous

中醫規管制度 > 中醫註冊過渡性安排

根據《中醫藥條例》第90條,在2000年1月3日正在香港執業的中醫師,可循中醫註冊過渡性安排,在2000年8月16日至2000年12月30日期間,向香港中醫藥管理委員會中醫組提出申請成為“表列中醫”。在提出申請後,申請人可繼續執業,直到其姓名在中醫組備存的表列中醫名單上被刪除,其註冊申請遭拒絕,或一個由食物及衞生局局長指定的日期為止。表列中醫名單已於2001年12月21日刊登於香港特區政府憲報及載於本網頁內。

中醫註冊替代資格

中醫組會對所有被接納成為表列中醫的人士,進行替代資格審核。中醫組會根據有關人士在申請成為表列中醫時所遞交的資料,按《中醫藥條例》第92至95條的規定,決定有關人士可循以下哪種方式申請成為註冊中醫-

第一類別

若申請人在緊接2000年1月3日前,已在香港連續作中醫執業達15年,可被豁免參加執業資格試及註冊審核,而直接申請成為註冊中醫。

第二類別

若申請人在緊接2000年1月3日前,在香港連續作中醫執業不足15年,但達10年並取得中醫組接納的在中醫執業方面的學歷資格,可被豁免參加執業資格試及註冊審核,而直接申請成為註冊中醫。

第三類別

若申請人在緊接2000年1月3日前,已在香港連續作中醫執業達10年,但不足15年,而且沒有中醫組接納的在中醫執業方面的學歷資格,可被豁免參加執業資格試,但他須通過註冊審核,才可申請成為註冊中醫。如申請人不能通過註冊審核,則須參加執業資格試。

第四類別

若申請人在緊接2000年1月3日前,已在香港連續作中醫執業少於10年,但取得中醫組接納的在中醫執業方面的學歷資格,可被豁免參加執業資格試,但他須通過註冊審核,才可申請成為註冊中醫。如申請人不能通過註冊審核,則須參加執業資格試。

第五類別

若申請人在緊接2000年1月3日前,在香港連續作中醫執業少於10年,而且沒有中醫組所接納的在中醫執業方面的學歷資格,則須參加執業資格試,通過後,才可申請成為註冊中醫。

執業資格試

根據《中醫藥條例》,已循中醫註冊過渡性安排成為表列中醫,並在中醫組評核其學歷及執業經驗後,決定其須通過執業資格試的人士,便須參加中醫執業資格試。

《中醫執業資格試考生手冊》可於本網頁下載,或在香港中醫藥管理委員會秘書處索取,亦可經衞生署中醫藥事務部查詢熱線(2574 9999)以傳真方式索取。

 

上一頁