Licensing of Chinese Medicine Traders > Exemptions for licence application

(i) Person or institution concerned with education or scientific research

According to Section 158(1) of the Chinese Medicine Ordinance, the Chinese Medicines Board may exempt, with or without conditions or restrictions, a person or institution concerned with education or scientific research from the restrictions of licensing of Chinese medicines traders or registration of proprietary Chinese medicines if the Chinese herbal medicines or proprietary Chinese medicines in question are required for the purposes of education or scientific research. Such person or institution may, without the relevant licence or certificate issued by the Chinese Medicines Board, obtain and possess the relevant Chinese herbal medicines and unregistered proprietary Chinese medicines.

Such persons or institutions concerned with education or scientific research are required to apply to the Chinese Medicines Board for the relevant exemptions. The relevant application forms can be downloaded from this website.

 

(ii) Chinese medicine practitioner

According to Section 158(2) and 158(4) of the Chinese Medicine Ordinance, if, and only if, the Chinese herbal medicines in question are being used for the purpose of administering to a patient under the direct care of a registered Chinese medicine practitioner or a listed Chinese medicine practitioner and being dispensed on a prescription given by him and at the premises where he practises and not used for public sales, such Chinese medicine practitioner may be exempted from applying for a retailer licence in Chinese herbal medicines for the purposes of possession and dispensing of the Chinese herbal medicines specified in Schedule 1 (applicable to registered Chinese medicine practitioners only) and in Schedule 2. In addition, according to Section 158(6)(a) of the Chinese Medicine Ordinance, in the event that the relevant proprietary Chinese medicines is compounded by or under the supervision of a registered Chinese medicine practitioner or a listed Chinese medicine practitioner at the premises where he practises if, and only if, such proprietary Chinese medicines is being used for the purpose of administering or supply to a patient under his direct care, then he may be exempted from applying for a manufacturer licence in proprietary Chinese medicines.

 

(iii) Manufacturer of proprietary Chinese medicines

According to Section 158(7) of the Chinese Medicine Ordinance, if, and only if, the Chinese herbal medicines or proprietary Chinese medicines in question are imported or obtained by a licensed manufacturer of proprietary Chinese medicines as raw materials for the purpose of manufacturing his own products, then he is exempted from obtaining a wholesaler licence for the purpose of possessing such batch of Chinese herbal medicines or proprietary Chinese medicines. In addition, according to Section 158(8) of the Chinese Medicine Ordinance, if and only if a licensed manufacturer of proprietary Chinese medicines sells by way of wholesale the registered proprietary Chinese medicines manufactured by himself, then he may be exempted from obtaining a wholesaler licence in proprietary Chinese medicines. If he, however, sells by way of wholesale other proprietary Chinese medicines not manufactured by himself, then he will be required to apply for a wholesaler licence in proprietary Chinese medicines.

 

(iv) Retailer of Chinese herbal medicines

According to section 158(6)(b) of the Chinese Medicine Ordinance, if the proprietary Chinese medicines in question are individually prepared or compounded by a person nominated for supervising the dispensing of Chinese herbal medicines or his deputy, or under the supervision of such person, at the premises in respect of which a retailer licence is in force and in accordance with a prescription given by a registered Chinese medicine practitioner or a listed Chinese medicine practitioner, then the retailer of Chinese herbal medicines is not required to obtain a manufacturer licence in proprietary Chinese medicines.

 

previous | next

中藥商發牌制度 > 豁免申領牌照

(i)教育或科學研究人士或機構

根據《中醫藥條例》第158(1)條,如有關的中藥材或中成藥是為教育或科學研究目的所需者,中藥組可在不論是否有施加條件或限制的情況下,豁免任何與教育或科學研究有關的人士或機構,使其免受中藥商領牌或中成藥註冊的規限,以獲取及管有相關的中藥材及未經註冊的中成藥。

但上述與教育或科學研究有關的人士或機構仍須向中藥組提出申請,以獲得有關豁免。有關申請表可於本網頁下載。

(ii)中醫

根據《中醫藥條例》第158(2)及(4)條,如有關的中藥材是為了向一名由註冊中醫或表列中醫直接治理的病人施用而正在使用的,及根據該中醫開出的處方並在其執業的處所配發的,而並非作公開售賣用途,則該中醫可獲豁免領取中藥材零售商牌照,以管有及配發附表1(只適用於註冊中醫)及附表2內指明的中藥材。此外,根據《中醫藥條例》第158(6)(a)條,如有關中成藥是註冊中醫或表列中醫在其執業的處所合成的或在其監管下合成的,但僅在該中成藥是為了向一名由他直接治理的病人施用或供應而正在使用的情況下,則該中醫可獲豁免領取中成藥製造商牌照。

(iii)中成藥製造商

根據《中醫藥條例》第158(7)條,如有關的中藥材或中成藥是由已領有牌照的中成藥製造商為了製造其產品而作為原料進口或取得的,則該中成藥製造商可獲豁免領取批發商牌照以管有該批中藥材或中成藥。此外,根據《中醫藥條例》第158(8)條,如以批發方式銷售由其製造的註冊中成藥,則該製造商無須另外領取中成藥批發商牌照;但如該製造商批發其他非由其製造的中成藥,則須領取中成藥批發商牌照。

(iv)中藥材零售商

根據《中醫藥條例》第158(6)(b),如有關的中成藥是由獲提名負責監管中藥材配發的人士或其副手,或在該人的監管下,於有效中藥材零售商牌照所指明的處所並按照任何註冊中醫或表列中醫開出的處方,個別配製或合成的,則該中藥材零售商無須領取中成藥製造商牌照。

 

上一頁 | 下一頁