Registration of Proprietary Chinese Medicines > Transitional registration of proprietary Chinese medicines

The application period for transitional registration of proprietary Chinese medicines is from 19 Dec 2003 to 30 June 2004. According to section 128 of the Chinese Medicine Ordinance, for proprietary Chinese medicine manufactured, sold or supplied for sale in Hong Kong on 1 Mar 1999, an applicant may apply within the above-mentioned application period to the Chinese Medicines Board for registration under the transitional arrangements. If the proprietary Chinese medicine under application is eligible for transitional registration, it may be deemed to have been registered.

Except for Chinese medicine injections, for any proprietary Chinese medicines that is eligible for transitional registration, an applicant may choose to apply for registration in any registration groups. For Chinese medicine injection that is eligible for transitional registration, an applicant can only apply for registered under Group III. For details, please refer to the application handbook.

For proprietary Chinese medicines sold or manufactured in Hong Kong after 1 March 1999, the applicant will not be eligible to apply for registration under the transitional arrangements. Applications must be submitted within the above-mentioned application period in order to facilitate the issue of the certificate of registration.

The concerned application had been closed. And since 31 March 2008, the Chinese Medicines Board has started to issue the "Notice of confirmation of transitional registration of proprietary Chinese medicine" to applicants of the products fulfilling the transitional registration requirements.

 

Application result

If the proprietary Chinese medicine under application is eligible for transitional registration, it may be deemed to have been registered. A Notice will be issued by the Chinese Medicines Board confirming that the pCm is accepted for transitional registration. Such registration shall continue in effect until the issue of a certificate of registration or the refusal of their application or such date as specified and promulgated by the Secretary for Food and Health, whichever is the earliest.

 

Documents to be submitted after approval of transitional registration

To facilitate the processing of transitional registration of proprietary Chinese medicines (pCm) to formal registration, holders of "Notice of confirmation of transitional registration of pCm" are required to submit, according to the registration groups chosen, the necessary documents in respect of safety, quality and efficacy within the period specified by the Chinese Medicines Board (CMB). For details, please refer to the Documents required for transitional registration of pCms (Table 1). A "Certificate of registration of pCm" will be issued if the pCm has been assessed by the CMB as meeting the registration requirements.

Having regard to the situation of the trade, the CMB resolved in June 2013 to extend the deadline for holders of "Notice of confirmation of transitional registration of pCm" to submit product specification, method and certificate of analysis and general stability test report of the pCm from 30 June 2013 to 30 June 2015. For details, please refer to the Letter to Holders of "Notice of confirmation of transitional registration of pCm" from the Chinese Medicine Council of Hong Kong dated 26 June 2013 (Chinese version only). In addition, the CMB has formulated a set of arrangements regarding the processing of transitional registration of pCm to formal registration so as to expedite the processing. For details, please refer to the Updated arrangement for processing transitional registration of pCm to formal registration (Chinese version only) and the Letter to Holders of "Notice of confirmation of transitional registration of pCm" from the Chinese Medicine Council of Hong Kong dated 19 May 2014 (Chinese version only).

Having considered the latest situation of submission of reports by the trade, the CMB has decided to maintain the deadline of submission of product specification, method and certificate of analysis and general stability test report. Holders of "Notice of confirmation of transitional registration of pCm" should submit the above reports for their pCm on or before 30 June 2015.

In addition, in order to safeguard public health and to avoid delaying the progress of assessment of the application for registration of pCm by the CMB, if holders of "Notice of confirmation of transitional registration of pCm" cannot submit quality documents for their pCm according to the above arrangements, the CMB will consider refusing the application at an appropriate time. For details, please refer to the Letter to Holders of "Notice of confirmation of transitional registration of pCm" from the Chinese Medicine Council of Hong Kong dated 13 May 2015 (Chinese version only).

 

previous | next

中成藥註冊制度 > 中成藥過渡性註冊

中成藥註冊過渡性安排的申請期為2003年12月19日至2004年6月30日,根據《中醫藥條例》第128條,申請人可為其於1999年3月1日時在香港製造、銷售或為銷售而供應的中成藥向中藥組申請過渡性註冊。有關申請人須於上述期限內向中藥組遞交過渡性註冊申請,如確定該中成藥符合過渡性註冊資格,則可當作獲批註冊。

除中藥注射劑外,任何符合過渡性註冊資格的中成藥,其申請人均可選擇按不同組別註冊;符合過渡性註冊資格的中藥注射劑,則須按第III組別註冊。詳情請參閱中成藥註冊申請手冊。

如中成藥在1999年3月1日以後才在香港銷售或製造,便不能循過渡性安排獲得註冊,但亦必須於前述申請期內提出註冊申請,以便中藥組盡快處理及發出註冊證明書。

上述有關的申請已截止。 而中藥組亦已於2008年3月31日開始,為符合過渡性註冊資格的中成藥發出「確認中成藥過渡性註冊通知書」。

 

申請結果

如確定該中成藥符合過渡性註冊資格,則可當作獲批註冊。中藥組會向申請人發出「確認中成藥過渡性註冊通知書」,該註冊繼續有效直至獲發正式註冊證明書、申請遭拒絕,或食物及衞生局局長公布的日期為止,以上各項以最早出現者為準。

 

獲過渡性註冊後須提交的資料

「確認中成藥過渡性註冊通知書」持有人須根據所選擇之註冊組別,於中藥組指定的限期內提交所需的安全性、品質性及成效性資料,以便處理過渡性註冊轉正式註冊的申請,詳情請參閱中成藥過渡性註冊須提交的資料(表一)。如有關中成藥經中藥組審核後符合註冊要求,便可獲發「中成藥註冊證明書」。

考慮到業界的實際情況,中藥組於2013年6月決定把「確認中成藥過渡性註冊通知書」持有人提交中成藥的品質標準化驗報告及一般穩定性試驗報告的期限由2013年6月30日延至2015年6月30日,詳情請參閱香港中醫藥管理委員會於2013年6月26日致各「確認中成藥過渡性註冊通知書」持有人的信函。此外,中藥組就過渡性註冊轉正式註冊申請制定了一套處理辦法,以加快處理過渡性轉正式註冊的申請,詳情請參閱中成藥過渡性註冊轉正式註冊申請的更新處理方案及香港中醫藥管理委員會於2014年5月19日致各「確認中成藥過渡性註冊通知書」持有人的信函

經考慮業界提交報告的最新情況後,中藥組決定維持有關持有人提交品質標準化驗報告及第一批產品的一般穩定性試驗報告的期限;即所有獲發「確認中成藥過渡性註冊通知書」持有人須於2015年6月30日或之前,提交相關報告。

此外,為保障公眾健康以及避免拖延中藥組審批註冊申請的進度,如有關獲發「確認中成藥過渡性註冊通知書」的產品持有人未能按上述安排為其中成藥提交品質性資料及文件,中藥組會考慮在適當時候拒絕該申請,詳情請參閱香港中醫藥管理委員會於2015年5月13日致各「確認中成藥過渡性註冊通知書」持有人的信函

 

上一頁 | 下一頁