Licensing of Chinese Medicine Traders > Application for Chinese Medicines Traders Licences

Guidelines on trade name of Chinese medicines business containing terms of Chinese medicine practice

The Chinese medicines trader licences are issued by the Chinese Medicines Board (CMB) in accordance with the provision for licensing of Chinese medicines traders under Chinese Medicine Ordinance. To avoid contravening the restriction on promotion of practice as stipulated in the "Code of Practice for Chinese Medicine Practitioners", Chinese medicine practitioners (CMPs) who practise Chinese medicine and hold, at the same time, a licence in retail or wholesale of Chinese herbal medicines, or a licence in manufacture or wholesale of proprietary Chinese medicines, must comply with the provisions under the code of practice when using the trade name to promote their Chinese medicines business, to avoid disciplinary proceedings by the CMP Board for breaching the code. Having regard to the circumstances concerning the use of terms implying the practice of Chinese medicine in the Chinese medicines trade names, the CMB has formulated the following guidelines:

  1. If a Chinese medicines trade name contains the title of "CMP" or a term indicating a stream of Chinese medicine practice (including general practice, acupuncture and bone-setting) or the terms of hospital/clinic, it must be genuine lest it shall constitute misleading the public. For example:

    1. If a trade name contains the title of "Chinese medicine practitioner", the business must include Chinese medicine service by a registered CMP or a listed CMP.

    2. If a trade name contains a personal name and the title of "CMP", then the person concerned should be a registered CMP or a listed CMP, and he/she should be responsible for the provision of the relevant Chinese medicine service. In addition, the name should be recorded in the register of registered CMP or the list of listed CMP.

    3. In using the terms of "general practice", "acupuncture" and "bone-setting" in a Chinese medicines trade name, the relevant regulations under Chinese Medicine Ordinance must be complied with.

    4. If the relevant CMP is no longer responsible for the Chinese medicines business, then his name and the title of CMP should no longer be used in the trade name.

  2. Under the circumstances where the title of CMP or other regulated titles are not used, Chinese medicines traders will not be prohibited from using other terms which are not regulated under Chinese Medicine Ordinance.

  3. Trade names carrying terms or words of Chinese medicine hospital (中醫院) should not be used to avoid misleading the public into believing that hospital service is provided.

 

previous | next

中药商发牌制度 > 中药商牌照申请

有关中药业务称号含有中医执业字句的指引

中药组是根据《中医药条例》中有关中药商领牌的条文而发出有关的药商牌照。为避免从事中医执业的中医师而又同时领有药商牌照的中药材零售商、中药材批发商、中成药制造商或中成药批发商,在使用其中药业务称号时,违反中医专业守则内有关业务宣传的规范,有关药商在使用商号作中药业务宣传时,必须遵守中医守则的规范,以免因违反中医守则而受到中医组的纪律程序。中药组就中药业务商号使用中医执业字句的情况,制定了下列指引:

  1. 中药商号,如含有「中医」或「中医师」名衔、科别(如全科、针灸及骨伤)、或医馆/医舍等字句,必须与实际情况相符,否则会构成误导,例如:

    1. 如称号含有「中医」或「中医师」字句,则其业务必须有注册中医或表列中医提供中医服务;

    2. 如称号含有个人姓名及「中医」或「中医师」称号,则该人必须是注册中医或表列中医,而且必须是负责有关中医服务;此外,该姓名必须是在注册中医名册或表列中医名册中登记的姓名或别名;

    3. 如在中药商号中使用中医的名衔及「全科」、「针灸」或「骨伤」的名称,必须符合《中医药条例》的规定。

    4. 如有关中医不再负责有关中药的业务,则该中药业务不应继续使用他的姓名及中医名衔。

  2. 在没有涉及使用「中医」或「中医师」专衔及有关规定称谓的情况下,不会禁止中药商号使用其他不属于《中医药条例》规范的称谓。

  3. 中药业务称号不应使用「中医院」一词,以免误导市民有关业务提供医院服务。

 

上一页 | 下一页