Lists of applications for proprietary Chinese medicine registration

According to the Chinese Medicine Ordinance (Cap.549) (the Ordinance), product defined as "proprietary Chinese medicine" (pCm) shall apply for registration (together with the necessary documents, information, samples and materials) with, the Chinese Medicines Board of the Chinese Medicine Council. Upon commencement of section 119 of the Ordinance, all pCms must be registered before it can be imported, manufactured and sold in Hong Kong.

Having considered the sales history and situation of pCm in Hong Kong, an arrangement of transitional registration was provided under the Ordinance.  Provided that an application was made within the period for transitional registration (i.e. 19 December 2003 to 30 June 2004 inclusive), the manufacturer or importer/local representative or agent of a manufacturer outside Hong Kong of a pCm manufactured, sold or supplied for sale in Hong Kong as at 1 March 1999 could apply for registration, and would be issued with a "Notice of confirmation of transitional registration of pCm" if the pCm concerned fulfills the relevant requirements and has submitted the basic information for safeguarding public health. Such pCm shall then be deemed to have registered in accordance with the Ordinance.  Holder of the notice of confirmation is required to label the "Transitional Registration number (HKP-XXXXX)" on the outer box of the registered pCm.

For pCm issued with "Notice of confirmation of Transitional Registration of pCm" and those pCm newly applied for registration, the Chinese Medicines Board will assess each application according to the set deadline for submission of document and requirements. Upon fulfillment of the safety, quality and efficacy requirements, the Chinese Medicines Board will approve the application and issue "Certificate of Registration of pCm", which contains a registration number of HKC-XXXXX to the product concerned.

When making a purchase of pCm, consumers should pay attention to whether the product contains the above information. If in doubt, they should contact the relevant supplier / manufacturer for details.

Last Updated :

中成藥名單

《中醫藥條例》(法例第549章)(下稱《條例》)規定符合定義的「中成藥」,必須向中醫藥管理委員會轄下中藥組申請註冊,並提交有關的文件、資料、樣品及物料。在《條例》第119條生效後,所有中成藥必須經中藥組註冊,方可進口、在本港製造和銷售。

考慮到中成藥在香港的銷售歷史及實際情況,《條例》內提供過渡性的註冊安排,即凡於1999年3月1日時在香港製造、銷售、或為銷售而供應的中成藥,有關的本地製造商或外地製造的本地進口商或代表在中藥組指定的申請期內(即2003年12月19至2004年6月30日)提出申請,如符合有關的要求及已提交對保障公共衞生有基本保證的資料,則可獲發「確認中成藥過渡性註冊通知書」,並根據《條例》當作已獲得非過渡性(正式)註冊,同時亦要求持有人在中成藥的外盒標籤上標示獲發的【中成藥過渡性註冊編號】HKP-XXXXX的資料。

持有「確認中成藥過渡性註冊通知書」及新遞交註冊申請的中成藥,中藥組會按制定的提交文件期限及要求審核每個產品的申請,在符合安全、品質及成效的要求下,中藥組會批准其註冊申請及發出「中成藥註冊證明書」予有關產品,並附有註冊編號HKC-XXXXX。

消費者在選購中成藥時,應留意產品是否載有以上資料。如有任何疑問,可向有關產品的供應商╱製造商查詢詳情。

更新日期: